• English
  • Deutsch

Zurich

Wisdom Play – An Ashtanga Yoga Workshop with Matt Champoux

In this weekend workshop we will explore how to use Astanga Yoga as an adaptive method suitable for yoga practitioners of all levels and with all ranges of physical conditions (from those working with injury, chronic conditions and unsteadiness all the way to students in peak physical states). 

Ashtanga Yoga gets a bad reputation as being rigid and something simply "not suitable" for everyone, but within the context of an open mind, Mysore-style, self-paced practice or a properly moderated led class setting, the Ashtanga Yoga system can be something profound and accessible to everyone. Furthermore, through an emphasis on the internal forms, the felt senses associated with a "skillful and safe" pose and the root (or core action dynamics), we can proceed with a Series-based practice in an organic, sustainable and enjoyable way. The physiological energetics of compassion and faith as gateway practices to wisdom will be contemplated, taught and felt throughout the practice. 

As we thread peripheral forms of asana, mudra, and pranayama onto and through the central axis of the body, like the branches of a tree emerging from the trunk, we will cultivate a practice fully engaged in the techniques of wakefulness promoted by the Wisdom Traditions. Furthermore, in the spirit of the Zen practice we will examine how practicing asana can itself be a form of koan meditation - a dive into "not knowing" and a tool for breaking the limitations of the mind. A well-done pose can liberate the mind from what it thinks the posture "should be" and brings us into the open sky of the present moment. Join us for a fun and deeply invigorating weekend!

Matt Champoux has been a student of yoga since 2000 and is an internationally recognized teacher with 500+ hours of training. Based in San Francisco, CA he directs The SF Ashtanga Yoga School, located at The Mindful Body and teaches Vinyasa with Yoga Tree and YogaWorks. He is a lifelong student of yoga philosophy (Hindu and Buddhist) and the shamanic traditions of Amazonia. These traditions inform and color his teachings on Vinyasa and Ashtanga (as taught by his root teachers, Richard Freeman and Mary Taylor), which are offered in a safe, dynamic, and inspiring way. He often uses props to ensure the practice meets a student where they are at (physically and mentally) and to ensure their sustainable growth into the best practitioners possible.
In addition to studies with Richard and Mary and in Mysore, Matt has conducted extensive studies in Iyengar and other therapeutic yoga methods. Of the numerous teachers and mentors he's had over the years, Matt has been deeply inspired by Prem & Radha Carlisi (AYRI Bali), Maty Ezraty, Chuck Miller, Gabriella Giubilaro, Rodney Yee, and Dr. Robert Thurman. 
Matt is also a lifelong student of environmental science, ornithology, and religion, and he has a master’s degree in Anthropology from Stanford University.  
For more information please also visit his website www.mattchampouxashtanga.com

Matt Champoux will offer this workshop on the weekend of January 11, and 12, 2020 at AIRYOGA, Fabrikstrasse 10 in 8005 Zurich.

Saturday, Januar 11, 2020 from 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm: Root to Crown (Session 1)
Skillful posture requires the whole body to participate intelligently. Particularly, we need a dynamic relationship between periphery and core, the earth and sky qualities in the body, and the entire central nervous system. 
In this workshop we will articulate philosophies of practice and the principles of vinyasa, a step by step approach, needed to make the practice authentically our own. 

Sunday, January 12, 2020 from 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm: Linking the Winds (Session 2)
Root patterns and internal forms are techniques for transcending the linear game of the series "advancement" through amplification of the "basics". A continuation of the themes developed on Saturday will support a vision of the path becoming synonymous with its fruition. 

Lecture, Q + A, and practice will form the structure of our time together. 

The workshop is appropriate for all levels.

Matt teaches in English.

The costs are Fr. 160.- for both sessions, or Fr. 90.- per session.

Participation is limited.

Please note the reservation and cancelation policy for workshops at AIRYOGA.

For further information, please contact zuerich@airyoga.com

Sign up now
Operations
Entire Workshop / All sessions
Saturday, January 11, 2020 - 14:00 to Sunday, January 12, 2020 - 17:00
Price160.00 CHF
Session 1
Saturday, January 11, 2020 - 14:00 to 17:00
Price90.00 CHF
Session 2
Sunday, January 12, 2020 - 14:00 to 17:00
Price90.00 CHF

• English
  • Deutsch

Zürich

Das Spiel der Weisheit – Ein Ashtanga Yoga Workshop mit Matt Champoux

Erlebe Matt Champoux aus San Francisco in einem vergnüglichen und äusserst erfrischenden Wochenende!

In diesem Wochenend-Workshop untersuchen wir, wie Ashtanga Yoga als eine anpassbare Methode für Yogapraktizierende aller Stufen und aller physischen Verfassungen angewendet werden kann - selbst für jene Yogis mit Verletzungen, chronischen Erkrankungen und Instabilität und sogar in extremen, körperlichen Zuständen.

Ashtanga Yoga hat einen schlechten Ruf, indem die Praxis als streng und "nicht für jeden geeignet" gilt. Im Rahmen eines offenen Geistes, einer wie im Mysore-Stil selbstgesteuerten Praxis oder einer angemessen geführten Unterrichtsumgebung, kann das Ashtanga Yoga System jedoch etwas Tiefgründiges und für jeden Zugängliches sein. Durch die Betonung der inneren Formen, der erfahrenen Sinne, die mit einer "geschickten und sicheren" Pose einhergehen und der Wurzel (oder Kernaktionsdynamik), können wir darüber hinaus mit einer seriebasierten Praxis auf organische, nachhaltige und angenehme Weise fortfahren. Die physiologische Energetik des Mitgefühls und des Glaubens als Tor zur Weisheitspraxis wird während der gesamten Praxis betrachtet, gelehrt und wahrgenommen. 

Wenn wir Asana, Mudra und Pranayama auf und durch die Mittelachse des Körpers einmitten wie die Zweige eines Baumes, die aus seinem Stamm hervorgehen, können wir eine Praxis kultivieren, die sich voll und ganz auf die Techniken der Wachheit ausrichtet. Ganz im Geiste der Zen-Praxis werden wir auch untersuchen, wie das Praktizieren von Asana selbst eine Form der Koan-Meditation sein kann - ein Eintauchen in das "Nichtwissen" und ein Werkzeug, um die Grenzen des Geistes zu durchbrechen. Eine gut ausgeführte Yogapose kann so den Geist von seinem Denken befreien, wie diese Haltung „sein sollte“ und uns ganz in die Weiten des gegenwärtigen Augenblicks bringen.

Matt Champoux studiert Yoga seit dem Jahr 2000, er ist ein international anerkannter Yogalehrer mit über 500 Ausbildungsstunden. In San Francisco leitet er die The SF Ashtanga Yoga School bei The Mindful Body und unterrichtet Vinyasa Yoga bei Yoga Tree und YogaWorks. Die hinduistische und buddhistische Yogaphilosophie sowie die shamanischen Traditionen des Amazonas, welche er intensiv studiert, prägen sein Leben und seinen Unterricht.
Matt hat bei Richard Freeman und Mary Taylor Vinyasa und Ashtanga Yoga gelernt und vermittelt diese Praktiken auf sichere, dynamische und inspirierende Weise. Ausserdem ist er in Iyengar- und anderen therapeutischen Yogamethoden ausgebildet. Zu seinen einflussreichsten Lehrern zählen auch Prem und Radha Carlisi (AYRI Bali), Maty Ezraty, Chuck Miller, Gabriella Giubilaro, Rodney Yee und Dr. Robert Thurman. 
Matt studiert Umweltwissenschaften, Ornithologie und Religion und hat einen Master-Abschluss in Anthropologie von der Stanford Universität. 
Für mehr Infos siehe auch www.mattchampouxashtanga.com

Matt Champoux leitet diesen Workshop am Wochenende vom 11. und 12. Januar 2020 bei AIRYOGA, Fabrikstrasse 10 in 8005 Zürich.

Samstag, 11. Januar 2020 von 14:00 bis 17:00 Uhr: Von der Wurzel bis zur Krone (Session 1)
Eine geübte Haltung erfordert die intelligente Mitwirkung des ganzen Körpers. Insbesondere brauchen wir ein dynamisches Verhältnis zwischen Peripherie und Kern, den Qualitäten von Erde und Himmel im Körper und dem gesamten zentralen Nervensystem. 
In diesem Workshop zeigen wir die Philosophien der Praxis und die Prinzipien von Vinyasa auf - ein schrittweiser Ansatz, der notwendig ist, um die Praxis authentisch zu unserer eigenen zu machen. 

Sonntag, 1. Januar 2020 von 14:00 bis 17:00 Uhr: Die Winde verbinden (Session 2)
Die Muster des Verwurzelns und innere Formen sind Techniken, um das lineare Spiel des „Vorankommens“ in der Serie durch Verstärkung der „Grundlagen“ zu transzendieren. Eine Fortsetzung der am Samstag entwickelten. Themen wird die Vision unterstützen, dass der Weg gleichbedeutend mit seiner Verwirklichung ist.

Die Sessions beinhalten Vortrag, Frage- und Antwort-Runde sowie körperliche Praxis.

Der Workshop eignet sich für alle Levels.

Matt unterrichtet auf Englisch.

Die Kosten betragen Fr. 160.- für beide Sessions, Fr. 90.- pro Session.

Die Teilnehmerzahl ist beschränkt.

Wir bitten, die Reservations- und Stornierungsbestimmungen für Workshop-Anmeldungen zu beachten.



Bei Fragen bitte E-mail an zuerich@airyoga.com

 

Jetzt anmelden
Operationen
Gesamter Workshop
Samstag, 11. Januar 2020 - 14:00 - Sonntag, 12. Januar 2020 - 17:00
Preis160.00 CHF
Session 1
Samstag, 11. Januar 2020 - 14:00 - 17:00
Preis90.00 CHF
Session 2
Sonntag, 12. Januar 2020 - 14:00 - 17:00
Preis90.00 CHF